Skip to content

Did You Hear?

It's been another busy semester for SNS faculty. Here are just a few of their achievements.



Dr. Jessica Blois, co-author. Understanding ecological change across large spatial, temporal, and taxonomic scales: integrating data and methods in light theory. Ecography.


Dr. David Strubbe, presented. Exited-State Forces in TDDFT and the Berthe-Salpeter Equation at Frontiers in Condensed Matter and Materials Physics: A Symposium in Honor of the 70th Birthday of Steven G. Louie. He was also part of the event’s organizing committee.


Dr. Justin Yeakel, co-author. Correction to: Laplacian matrices and Turning bifurcations: revisiting Levin 1974 and the consequences of spatial structure and movement for ecological dynamics. Theoretical Ecology.


Dr. Jessica Blois and Dr. Justin Yeakel, co-authors. article Models and macrofossils: integrating Rancho La Brea’s plant collection with dynamic vegetation modeling during Marine Isotope Stage 3. Presented at the American Geophysical Union Fall Meeting 2018.


Dr. Jennifer Manilay, co-author. Wnt antagonists in hematopoietic and immune cell fate: implications for osteoporosis therapies. Current Osteoporosis Reports.


Dr. Gabriela Loots and Dr. Jennifer Manilay co-authors. Sostdcl regulates nk cell maturation and cytoxcity. Journal of Immunology.


Dr. Ajay Gopinathan and Dr. Jing Xu, co-authors. Cholesterol influences the Effect of Tau on Membrane-Coupled Kinesin-1. Biophysical Journal.


Dr. Andy LiWang, author. Proteins that tell time. Biophysical Journal.


Dr. Michael Beman, Dr. Tanja Woyke and Dr. Clarissa Nobile, co-authors. Community ecology across bacteria, archaea and microbial eukaryotes in the sediment and seawater of coastal Puerto Nuevo, Baja California. PLOS ONE.


Dr. Chris Amemiya co-author. Characterization of tongue worm (Pentastomida) chitin supports a-rather than B-chitin. Zoologischer Anzeiger.


Dr. David Ardell co-author. Match fitness landscapes for macromolecular interaction networks: Selection for translational accuracy and rate can displace tRNA-binding interfaces of non-cognate aminoacyl-tRNA synthetases. Theoretical Population Biology.





Dr. Juan C. Meza was named a SIAM fellow for 2019.


Dr. Asmeret Asefaw Berhe presented at ‘TED2019: Bigger Than Us,’ where she informed the crowd that the ‘earth’s soil is not only necessary for agriculture – it’s also an underappreciated resource in the fight against climate change.’


Dr. Asmeret Asefaw Berhe awarded 2019 Bromery Award from the Geological Society of America.


Dr. Asmeret Asefaw Berhe awarded the Ted and Jan Falasco Chair in Earth Sciences and Geology.


Dr. Linda Hirst awarded 2019 Hilsum Medal for her contributions to liquid crystal science and technology.


Dr. Liang Shi and Dr. Anna Beaudin awarded the 2019 Hellman Faculty Fellows Award.


This year’s Faculty Senate Awards were announced and the following SNS faculty were recognized:


  • Dr. Emily Reed-Distinguished Undergraduate Teaching by a Non-Senate Faculty member
  • Dr. Miriam Barlow-Distinguished Graduate Teaching and Mentorship by a Senate Faculty member
  • Dr. Katrina Hoyer-Distinguished Scholarly Public Service
  • Dr. Clarissa Nobile-Contributions to Diversity


Dr. Shilpa Khatri, Dr. Dustin Kleckner and Dr. Bin Liu received a Defense University Research Instrumentation Program (DURIP) award for Multiscale Ultrafast Volumetric Imaging (MUVI).


Kristina Callaghan, Dr. Edbertho Leal-Quiros, and Dr. Toni Stone were awarded Spring 2019’s Non-Senate Faculty Professional Development grants.


Faculty, we want to hear from you! Send us news of your accomplishments at